DOE to Fund Tribal Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Projects

Yesterday, May 30, 2017, the Department of Energy Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs announced that it has awarded nineteen Tribes funding to implement renewable energy (RE) and energy efficiency (EE) projects on tribal lands.

In its announcement, DOE explained the awards will assist communities with “conduct[ing] energy options analyses; establish[ing] baseline energy use and efficiency options; develop[ing] energy organizations; conduct[ing] resiliency planning; establish[ing] policy, regulations, and codes; and obtain[ing] skills and training to promote energy efficiency and development.”

The recipients include: Akiachak Native Community, Bear River Band of Rohnerville Rancheria, Bishop Paiute Tribe, Forest County Potawatomi Community, Karuk Tribe, Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe, Makah Tribe, Native Village of Atmautluak, Native Village of Kwigillingok, Oneida Indian Nation, Pala Band of Mission Indians, Pascua Yaqui Tribe, Pechanga Band of Luiseño Mission Indians, Pueblo of Acoma, Samish Indian Nation, San Manuel Band of Mission Indians, Village of Aniak, and Yurok Tribe of the Yurok Reservation, California.

The awardees and a description of their projects can be found here.

This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.